Ncap and How Your Car is Rated

If you want to find out how your car fared in the crash tests carried out by Ncap you can check online to see its overall star rating.

Euro Ncap was launched in 1997 to carry out crash safety tests on a number of cars in an effort to increase safety and inform consumers of the safety rating of each car they tested. The amount of cars they test each year varies, but it can be anything between just a few to as many as 45.

There are four main categories, and these are:

Adult Occupant Protection

A series of tests that involve frontal and side-on impact, crashing into a fixed object, whiplash and autonomous braking systems.

Child Occupant Protection

They test restraint systems with front and side impacts. The safe use of child seats and whether the car can accommodate restraints of various sizes and design. They also look at airbag deactivation systems.

Vulnerable Road User Protection

The car is assessed as to how a pedestrian can be injured, including head, pelvis and legs from places such as the bonnet edge, bumper and windscreen. If there is an autonomous emergency braking system this will mean the car is awarded more points.

Safety Assist

Consideration is given to the safety technology included in the car, like seatbelt reminders or electronic stability control. The more advanced the technology, the better the score.

The Ratings

The ratings are given as a star system. One star is the lowest rating and five stars is the best. In 2016 the dual star rating was introduced. One set of ratings are based on cars fitted with standard safety equipment. In other words the minimum you can expect when you buy a car from anywhere in Europe. 

The second star rating is for cars that are sold with the added addition of a safety pack which includes extra safety systems. It means consumers can see the difference in the safety features if a safety pack is purchased.

What the Stars Mean

  • Star – Minimal crash protection
  • Star – No crash avoidance technology, but nominal crash protection
  • Star – No crash avoidance technology but average to good occupant protection
  • Star – Crash avoidance technology may be present. Good overall performance in crash protection
  • Star – Well equipped with crash avoidance technology and an overall good performance in crash protection

If you want to compare crash test results, it’s best to only compare cars from the same year. This is because over the years the rules have changed and what was a 4-star in 2009 could now be a 3-star in 2018 due to the inclusion of new safety regulations.

If you want to find out about the rating of your car, log into the Euro Ncap website and scroll down to find the make and model of your vehicle.

The ratings will appear on the page for each year the car was tested. Some cars have ratings pre-2009 up to 2018, while others may have only been rated in one particular year.

The information includes percentage ratings for each of the four categories, specifications, safety equipment and a downloadable PDF report.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published